update: I’m in trouble for what I wore when when my boss made me pick him up for the airport in the middle of the night

http://ift.tt/2gvc9tO

‘Tis the season of updates from letter-writers! Between now and the end of the year, I’ll be posting at least one update every day (including weekends!) from someone who had their letter answered here this year. I received a lot of updates this year, which I’m very excited about.

Today’s update is from last week’s letter-writer whose boss called her in the middle of the night, demanded that she spend hours picking him and some colleagues up from the airport and dropping them off, and then gave her an unpaid suspension because she wasn’t dressed professionally enough? Here’s the update.

First I would like to thank you and all of your readers for the thoughtful responses.

When I returned to work on Tuesday, I was planning on speaking to HR about what happened. I didn’t even need to. When I got in to work, the assistant to someone who is higher than my boss brought me in to talk to that person because she (the assistant) heard about what happened. I explained what happened and he said he would talk to my boss.

The next day my boss was dismissed. My situation probably had something to do with it, but he was already being looked at and was found to be fudging his time sheets and putting personal expenses on his company credit card. It’s likely that he promised the others a ride home from the airport but couldn’t deliver because his card was maxed out.

My boss’s boss held a meeting where he addressed what happened because of the talk about it. He reminded us that no matter what our job is we aren’t to work outside of working hours no matter who asks and that if anyone calls asking us to work when we are off the clock we are allowed to hang up on them. Our work can’t be done from home and we don’t have work phones or anything like that. Only management travels sometimes. When we aren’t at work, we are not on the clock. He said the only time someone might call us at home is if we hadn’t shown up for several days and people were getting concerned.

He also apologized to me before the meeting. To reimburse for the mileage and the suspension, I was given two extra paid vacation days for 2017, and the write-up was removed from my file. The other two people I picked up with my boss were both embarrassed when they found out what happened. Since I never got out of the car and it was dark and they were both in the back seat, they never even saw what I was wearing. My boss told them I was okay to pick them up because I was already there dropping someone off. I also found out that my boss had called others, both men and women, before me and they all refused to do it. I accepted the apology because my boss’s boss didn’t cause this and made it right as soon as he knew.

Thanks again to you and your readers for all the support and kind comments. It helped me realize that I could stand up for myself and say no in the future or go to HR or a higher up if I felt something was wrong. This was definitely something I will keep in mind throughout my career.

In regards to what people were saying in the comments about it being sexual and creepy, my boss is gay. Also wearing a skirt is not a requirement for my job. We have to wear suits but we have the choice to wear pants or skirts. I wear skirts only because I find them more comfortable. He was definitely on a power trip but it wasn’t anything sexual.

Thanks again. Happy December!

update: I’m in trouble for what I wore when when my boss made me pick him up for the airport in the middle of the night was originally published by Alison Green on Ask a Manager.

HR

via Ask a Manager http://ift.tt/IXTteb

December 5, 2016 at 05:03AM

